MoviePix MP5A4 HD 720P Video Camcorder Review

June 28th, 2009 Posted in Internet |Technology

Ever since I wrote Flip UltraHD And MoviePix MP5A4 HD Digital Video Camera post, I have been getting lots of questions regarding my MoviePix HD video camera. Lots of readers asked whether to buy a Flip UltraHD or a MoviePix HD cam. Today, I am writing a quick comparison Review showing the main differences between these two cameras. After looking at this comparison table below, you should have a good idea of what to pick.

 

  MoviePix MP5A4 HD Flip UltraHD
Video Resolution 1280 x 720 1280 x 720
Video Frame Rate: up to 60 fps up to 30 fps
Digital Zoom 4X 2X
LCD Display 2.7” 2.0”
Digital Camera 8 MP Can’t take still pictures
Battery Li-ion rechargeable battery 2.5 hours rechargeable NiMH AA batteries 2.5 hours. Can use standard AA alkaline batteries as well.
Connection Camcorder connects to your computer via USB cable Camcorder connects directly to the USB port on your computer.
Memory SD memory slot allows up to 32GB of storage 8GB internal memory
Output USB, AV & HDTV Component output jacks allow to connect it directly to HD TV HDMI output on the side for HDTV connections, but no bundled cable
Video Format Mov MP4
Weight 148 gms 170 gms
Price (may vary depending on retailers) In Canada: $127 C$ In USA: $147 US$ In Canada: $299 C$ In USA: $199 US$

 

Watch A View From My Balcony I Shot On MoviePix Video Camera In HD

 

 

 

Some hand-picked related and non-related posts:

Silver Elvis At The Toronto Eaton Centre
The Scenic Caves Suspension Footbridge

A Dawn YouTube

A Dawn Flickr

A Dawn Facebook

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

  1. 35 Responses to “MoviePix MP5A4 HD 720P Video Camcorder Review”

  2. By Bob Parsons on Aug 9, 2009

    Hey, I was wondering what the audio quality was like on the MoviePix MP5A4 HD. I’m in a band and I like to record when we play and I’m wondering if it can handle the loud volumes at concerts. If you can help me figure this out, I’d love it! Thanks!

  3. By A.D. on Aug 10, 2009

    MoviePix is a general-purpose camera. I am not sure it can handle concerts or professional sound issues. You can try contacting Kobian Inc directly here – http://www.kobian-inc.com

  4. By francois boivin on Aug 17, 2009

    hi

    i have a small problem with the sd card configuration its say on the screan lock how i can unlocked it

  5. By A.D. on Aug 17, 2009

    Please contact Kobian Inc directly here – http://www.kobian-inc.com.

  6. By Carl on Aug 21, 2009

    Thanks for the review and spec. comparison. How does the MoviePix do in low light conditions?

  7. By Mike on Oct 20, 2009

    I am having problems burning on a cd. how did you do it? I downloaded my video on the computer but when I burn it there is no voice.

    Thank you in advance for letting me know.

  8. By A.D. on Oct 20, 2009

    I am no tech expert but I would try converting MOV file to AVI and then would try burning it. If this does not work, seek help from an expert (many kids are expert on this). Cheers.

  9. By A.D. on Oct 20, 2009

    Carl, MoviePix does not do well in low light conditions.

  10. By Mike on Nov 20, 2009

    Hi, I would suggest getting video/audio codecs. the Klite codec pack is free and will make a PC play any video with all sound problems fixed too. Try CCCP codec pack as well. Google either one, and U will have zero probs. Geting a MP4 codec/player is advised as well, and/or google QuickTime Alternitave. It’s a free NON-ad aware quick time video player for the Kobian MoviePix HD 720p Camcorder mp5a4 camcorder.
    This has been your local Free-Lance PC teck, Mike. aikido4@hotmail.com for any more Q’s and A’s. ^_^

  11. By shawn on Dec 1, 2009

    does this camera support sdhc card? also, does it support universal 3 pin tripod?
    plz get back to me asap as i would like to buy for a xmas gift. thank you for your time

  12. By A.D. on Dec 1, 2009

    I believe it does; however, I would suggest you to contact Kobian Inc directly for technical questions.

  13. By Eric McCafferty on Dec 16, 2009

    I was wondering what has better quality in a low light or night setting. I want to find the best camera between the two for shooting in clubs and patios. Thanks for your time.

  14. By A.D. on Dec 19, 2009

    MoviePix does not do well in low light conditions.

  15. By SymonSez on Dec 28, 2009

    @Shawn, yes to both your questions … i have a 16 gig SDHC installed on mine and a hand held mini tripod (Hanna) it will work on any tripod

    Q.Vista does not recognize this as a video Cam, is there a driver available?

  16. By Sherri S on Dec 28, 2009

    I bought this camera yesterday because you gave it such a good review on your blog. It takes ok video in daylight, yes, but the quality in low and medium light is very very crappy. There are vertical lines and graininess on the videos. My digital camera (non HD) takes better videos in low light. I’m returning this camera the first chance I get, and I will never buy another moviepix camera again.

  17. By Shim M on Dec 29, 2009

    Sherri – I have to take issue with your comment, it seems you’re blaming the blogger for misleading you. The video quality in daylight is obvious from the youtube clip, and the blogger repeatedly stated (in the comments) that the camera doesn’t do well in low light. I don’t see any vertical lines or graininess on the youtube video, so maybe it’s an issue with the particular camera you bought.

  18. By Bert D on Jan 12, 2010

    Well…I won my moviePIX camera at a Staff Christmas party, and I have pleanty of “good cameras” and didn’t need another, HOWEVER, I give credit for this camera at taking daylight videos. Not bad quality for a cheapo camera, but if you want better, you have to spend a bit more OR do your homework. I prefer my Canon digital camera for ALL around photos / videos, but this moviepix will do well on my trip overseas, this spring. It’s compact, and takes ok videos (I don’t plan to take night videos), and if so, I’ll use my Canon, and if worse happens that I lose this camera or get it stolen, it’s no great loss, heck it was free!! I am not impressed by the photo quality of this camera, but it will do when no other camera is available.

  19. By bob on Jan 24, 2010

    how do you delete pics and movies? i lost my manual thx

  20. By SheriL on Feb 11, 2010

    My experience with mine (MoviePix DV-80 Digital Camcorder)…great for videos, but lousy for still shots (too difficult to hold it still enough not to get a blurry picture–no matter what the light conditions are…no, I’m not new to photography–been taking great shots for years). Compartment covers are flimsy. It was only a few days beyond the yr warranty and the cover to the battery compartment broke off while opening it to replace batteries. I had done this before with no problems on different occasions,and I assure you, I have delicate hands, not big, stumbly-blumbly ones. Putting batteries in and finding a way to get it to close still did not make it work again. There must have been some kind of connection piece missing in the breakage. I wrote to the manufacturer, Kobian-Inc (because buy.com could do nothing for me–I was a few days past their service coverage time window), and after some communication with their customer non-svc tech, they basically told me (after seeing photos I emailed them about it so that they could see close-hand what was broke/wrong) that I was SOL. I wrote back and said, so you’re not even telling me that I can pay for a repair? Told them that I wouldn’t be buying any of their products after such poor treatment. So, I’m writing this in case anyone’s considering buying this. It may seem like good value, but think about durability. It’s fun and I liked it for movies only. Loved that it saved to memory card (unlike the Flip Mino), and especially, that it used AA batteries. But, my spirit is broken, and I must admit I’m now looking at the Samsung HMX-U10 Ultra-Compact Full-HD Camcorder with 10 MP Still (also uses memory cards). As you can see, I didn’t have your model, but thought people should know about how lousy the manufacturer treats customers. I was nice to them until they threw me in the dumpster…now I feel I should just let people know…

  21. By Jay A on Feb 19, 2010

    Have the MP5A4-BK. Seems to do OK. But, I wanted to get spare battery for overseas trip. Cannot find anthing locally. The battery that comes with the unit has only “generic” numbers (ie; 3.7V 1200 mAh). Wrote to Kobian. No response yet.

    Anyone know of a replacement number I might purchase locally?

    Thanks.

  22. By Jay A on Feb 19, 2010

    RE: MoviePix Model MP5A4-BK (Kobian Mfg). Tried to find a spare battery for the unit at a local battery specialist company. No luck. Wrote to Kobian direct. Their response: Sorry, due to US customs they cannot ship just batteries to U.S. Try Nokia battery–is similar in size.

    They are of ABSOLUTELY NO HELP. When I am through with this little unit (even though it works OK) I will probably just trash it. A company that cannot even get you a battery number for their own product is, to me, not customer oriented and not useful at all.

  23. By Chant on Feb 25, 2010

    got a Moviepix camcorder/camera 720hd, I plugged it in to charge it , 8 h. not working
    at all , 9h, still no go , yes I uncharged it fully first , then plug for charging , CAN someone help me ??? please.

  24. By Paste on Mar 6, 2010

    is it possible to put the moviepix on a tripod?

  25. By A.D. on Mar 6, 2010

    Yes, it’s got the tripod hole.

  26. By Jan on Mar 13, 2010

    SANYO XACTI VPC-HD1, DB-L40 3.7V 1200mAH Li-ION,Replacement Battery – has anyone tried this in the movie-pix mp5a-bk? It looks as if it might fit. I really like the camera but having a tough time finding a battery like others have.

  27. By Thorfoot on Mar 17, 2010

    Great Video nice and clear,much better than your old Cam

  28. By Jan on Apr 6, 2010

    I purchased Nokia BL-5C batteries and they work with the MoviePix MP5A4-BK. I’m not sure the life of the battery but they charge in the camera and get a full charge and I took video with them. I purchased the charger with the batteries in case they didn’t charge in the camera, so I have a backup source to charge. The 2 batteries and charger were less than 20.00. These batteries are slightly smaller(slender) than the one that came with the camera. I did find that if you place the battery in the camera and it doesn’t respond, look back in the camera and make sure the pins are lifted, once one was stuck and I didn’t get a response from the camera. Hope this will help those of you that couldn’t find a battery.

  29. By Jan on May 10, 2010

    Nokia BL-5C batteries Just returned from a 30 day trip using the MoviePix with the battery that came with the camera and backup of the Nokia BL-5C batteries. They worked great! I purchased a cheap charger for them just in case the camera couldn’t charge them and found the camera worked great charging them to a full charge. The charger worked ok, a clip broke off so I had to rig it so that it would work. I plan to buy a couple more of the batteries and a new better charger. The movies are great from the movie pix, I purchased a program AVS4your to convert them to avi. Hope this will help those of you that have the MoviePix, don’t throw it away, invest in a couple of cheap replacement batteries.

  30. By Dale Whiteway on Jul 17, 2010

    Does Moviepix camera have a pause button because I have look for it everywhere

  31. By Khawar on Sep 22, 2010

    Does moviepix camera have a screwing area in the bottom that can be attached to a tripod?

  32. By mark on Nov 13, 2010

    Just purchased this camera, when i put the sd card in (1 GB) screen still tells me to insert sd card. I formated from menu. any suggestions?

  33. By jesse on Apr 19, 2011

    hey i may be getting this video camera.. by trading my ipod touch 3rd gen for it.. is that a good deal? or not? just curious! thanks

  34. By Braeden L on Sep 16, 2011

    FREE help… since i see a few help posts… the manual can be found on hipstreet’s website, http://hipstreetonline.com/content/manuals/MP5A4_DigiCam.pdf They have online chat people sometimes….

    My own support… I bought this camera from a pawn shop, and apparently theres some charging base, the manual mentions to use… but i didnt get one… i gave help tho… when i use the camera i will review mine or i will return for another camera.

  35. By Bert D on Nov 9, 2011

    Well I’ve had this camera for almost 2 years now, and have an update. This camera still is good for taking videos in decent quality (just don’t use the Zoom and your videos will remain focused. I just tonight found a small annoyance, in the settings you cannot set the date stamp that is put on your video files. I tried formatting and accessing the camera from Win 7, and there’s just no way to adjust it (other than manually doing it in Win 7 on the file itself, but not within the camera settings. I still don’t use it for pictures (unless I’m in a pinch for a camera). I also have come across a couple of file corruptions, which didn’t seem like a problem till I tried to burn the video along with a series of other videos. This hasn’t happened much, but did happen about 2 times (in 2 years…not bad). I basically had to delete the corrupt clip and reburn the DVD and all seemed good. Hope this helps…any questions you can contact me at mrformat@gmail.com

  36. By Bert D on Jun 4, 2012

    Updated review, with a bit more detail.

    Ok, this camera served me very well, but there’s things you should know about it.

    # 1. Video is great (In my opinion), as long as you don’t zoom in at all.
    # 2. Date stamp on the file created is WAY off (like 2 years off), and can’t be adjusted. A big thumbs down if you like to organize your videos in dated created, and would like to label it properly.
    # 3. Yes, sometimes I had to remove the battery to start the camera (usually in cold weather), but you need to know this if your camera fails to start OR shut down.
    # 4. Photo quality is ok in a pinch, but I don’t recommend using the flash much…most flash photos I took of people turned out flushed and terrible.
    # 5. GREAT camera if you’re going overseas and don’t want to risk losing a good Camcorder. I took this one to Italy and took hours upon hours of very good quality video, and didn’t worry a bit about if I lost it or whatever, mostly because I won this camera, but either way, it was only about $100.00 CDN.
    # 6. Menu on the camera is pretty shitty and not many features, and cumbersome to use.
    # 7. Not the best camera in dark conditions.
    # 8. Battery life isn’t too bad (about 2-3 hours), but keep it charged overnight and you should be good for a day of videotaping.
    # 9. Videos are .mov file, and need to be converted using DVD Free Studio Manager from DVDVideoSoft, to edit files in Premiere or Elements.
    # 10. Of ALL the many videos I have taken, I can only say I had ONE corrupt file that made DVD burning for one Disk a nightmare. Just delete it and you’ll be fine.
    # 11. YES, if you move your hand alot the camera’s sound quality is crap, but you need to know how to videograph, by trying to control how much your hand rubs the camera. Hold it firm, but not firm so that every hand movement is rubbing the camera case to pick up the annoying rubbing sound. I also think it sucks that they put the microphone right where my index finger sits. you have to always be aware of what your hand is doing and where your microphone is in proximity to your fingers.

    Final thoughts:

    Well as I said I won this camera, so for me it’s been good, but not GREAT. Remember for any quality Camera, you should spend more than a hundred bucks, and probably good idea to avoid buying a camera that’s in one of those hard to open clear plastic packages. Get a camera that comes in a box, and spend a bit more coin. I’m really upset that I can’t adjust the date stamp on this camera, as I always date my videos, so that I know when I took them. I give this camera a generous 3 *, but if I bought it I probably would honestly give it a 2.

    Good luck

Post a Comment

Copyright © 2011 [A Dawn Dot Net Corp.] All rights reserved   |   Privacy & Cookies