Mobilicity Review: Time To Switch?

June 1st, 2010 Posted in Reviews|Interviews

Mobilicity Review Time To Switch Mobilicity Review

Wind Mobile review

Public Mobile review

Mobilicity Unlimited Internet Data Plan


Mobilicity’s New Unlimited Plans: More Bad News For The Big Three As They Are Losing Their Already Fragile Grip

After manipulating Canadian cell phone consumers with their overpriced plans and inhumane 3 year contracts for a long time, it looks like the big three phone companies are finally losing their tight-grip on the Canadian mobile market. With the arrival of a third new Phone Company, the big three have more than enough to worry about while trying to hold onto existing clients. Signing up new customers onto 3 year contracts will be much tougher to do now.

Mobilicity Offers Simple, Unlimited Plans

All Mobilicity plans are contract free, unlimited, include caller ID, and offer Mobilicity to Mobilicity calling. There are six simple plans:

clip_image001 Text only North America – Unlimited for $15 per month

clip_image001[1] Local call – Unlimited for $25 per month

clip_image001[2] Local call and text – Unlimited for $35 per month

clip_image001[3] Local call, Canadian long distance, text, voicemail – Unlimited for $45 per month

clip_image001[4] Local call, North American long distance, global text, voicemail, call waiting, forwarding, 3 way calling – Unlimited for $55 per month

clip_image001[5] All of the above $55 plan + Data – Unlimited for $65 per month

Also, Mobilicity offers Unlimited Internet access and add-on bundles. Let’s go over these as well:

Unlimited Internet Data Stick Plan

clip_image001[6] Plan costs $40 per month (Wind Mobile costs $55 per month)

clip_image001[7] Data Stick costs $100 (Wind Mobile Data Stick costs $150)

clip_image001[8] Internet speed up to 3.6 Mbps. Mobilicity does not mention speed anywhere on their site, so I had to call them to get this. (Wind Mobile speed is up to 7.2 Mbps)

Mobilicity Ad-Ons

To capture Canada’s multi-ethnic communities, Mobilicity has launched two wireless long-distance add-on bundles offering unlimited calling to some Asian countries. This is the first time I’ve seen this type of bundle in Canada. Let’s have a quick look:

clip_image001[9] East Asia Long Distance Add-On – Unlimited for $20 per month. Eligible countries: China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, South Korea, Singapore, Japan and Vietnam.

clip_image001[10] South Asia Long Distance Add-On – Unlimited for $20 per month. Eligible countries: India, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

Mobilicity – Need to Know

Before I go into my take on Mobilicity, let’s look at what you need to know:

clip_image001[11] No contracts, system access fees, 911 fees, or any other fees just like Wind Mobile. Handsets are not subsidized either (just like Wind Mobile).

clip_image001[12] Just like Wind Mobile, Mobilicity allows you to buy just a SIM card (without a phone) and use it with your current (unlocked) handset.  Mobilicity operates on the AWS band (1700 Mhz/BandIV), and a majority of phones available in North America (like the iPhone) are not compatible with this band. However, a lot of new phones (including Google’s Nexus One) do support this band.  Mobilicity will verify if your current handset is compatible with their service.

clip_image001[13] Roaming costs 20 cents a minute in Canada and 50 cents a minute in the US. However, Mobilicity doesn’t offer US roaming (yet).

My Take

All Mobilicity plans look pretty good. Their $65 plan offering unlimited Data, unlimited Canada/US calling, and global text seems too good to be true; especially for those of us who have been subjected to overpaying for big 3 plans that give us almost nothing. Mobilicity’s Unlimited Internet Data Stick Plan is also a huge blow to the big 3. Furthermore, it’s $15 a month cheaper than Wind Mobile. Currently, I subscribe to Wind Mobile’s Unlimited Data Plan for $55 a month and I am considering switching to Mobilicity’s $40 a month plan (I will be losing $150 which I paid to buy the Wind Data stick and it will cost me another $100 to buy the Mobilicity Data Stick).

Some Mobilicity Facts

clip_image001[14] The word “Mobilicity” is a crossbreed of words ‘mobile’ and ‘simplicity’.

clip_image001[15] Mobilicity’s 3.5G AWS network built and managed by Ericsson, the Swedish network company that took over Nortel’s wireless business last year.

clip_image001[16] Billing, ordering, customer care and operational support systems provided by international telecom support company Amdocs.

clip_image001[17] Mobilicity used to be called Dave Wireless (Data & Audio Visual Enterprises Wireless Inc.) Mobilicity is backed by Canadian private investment firm Obelysk and global private investment firm Quadrangle Capital Partners.

Links:

Mobilicity Website

Wind Mobile Website

Public Mobile Website

Canada’s Personal Finance Blog

Free Home Phone Comes To Canada

Is A Dawn Journal The Best Personal Finance Blog?

How to Get Free Internet for Your Laptop at Starbucks

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

  1. 50 Responses to “Mobilicity Review: Time To Switch?”

  2. By SnakeEyes on Jun 2, 2010

    Terrific article, very informative and really helpful. I’m thinking of changing phone companies, and this just opens the door that much more.

  3. By Ray on Jun 3, 2010

    Thanks, great info. Canada is dino in cell plans comparing worldwide mainly because of the 3 much hated companies.

  4. By Kashif on Jun 11, 2010

    Unlimited calls to Pakistan – unbelievable. I’m gonna give it a try ! I was waiting for something like that eversince.

  5. By liza on Jun 26, 2010

    why dont have unlimited long ditance in phillipines and middle east

  6. By Muhammad on Jul 19, 2010

    Mobilicity offered unlimited south asia (Pakistan) in the beginning to attract all pakistani customers and committed to provide this service as long as the user wants to keep it.

    Now after 3 months, mobilicity is now stepping back and discountinuing its service. This is like cheating strategy i.e. to attract customers, sell them cell phone at full price and then not keeping the words.

    This is against the consumer protection, mobilicity should continue to provide the service which they promissed to.

  7. By Arnold Mendoza on Aug 1, 2010

    I just switch to Mobilicity weeks ago and got a $65 plan. True to their words, everything is unlimited(for now). They also allow tethering but the internet speed is slower than my DSL. What I don’t like with Mobilicity is that the phones they are selling are locked to their network. Yes, there is no contract but if you want to switch to another carrier, you are stuck with a locked phone which was bought from them unsubsidized. This is the very the same practice being done by major phone companies.

  8. By Michael on Aug 8, 2010

    To Arnold Mendoza , If your phone they sold you is locked, GET IT UNLOCKED. Just go on ebay and for 5 bucks you can get the code and instructions. Or to to a cell phone shop or something. All GSM phones can be unlocked, so why are you complaining about phones being locked. I have a T-Mobile blackberry that i’ve unlocked for 5 bucks and when I go to Africa I insert their SIM card and it works perfect.

  9. By Arnold Mendoza on Aug 13, 2010

    To Michael, The idea of locking a phone to a certain carrier in not acceptable considering you bought it unsubsidized. I know you can have it unlocked which btw I have tried unsuccesfully. Your blackberry can be unlocked even for FREE. I have an HTC Maple which was unsuccessfully unlocked by major unlocking services. They advised me that it has to be done with a cable or the code should be provided by network provider considering Mobilicity is new. I even tried flashing it, but without success. If there is someone out there whose Mobilicity HTC phone was unlocked, please let me know. And lastly Michael, if you go to ebay, all unlockers are mostly mentioning Blackberry which is the reason why you have it unlocked for 5 bucks, but if you know just a LITTLE on mobile software, you can do it yourself- FREE.

  10. By me444 on Aug 31, 2010

    I have bought pre-paid phones (so phones where you pay their full costs up front) with both Fido in Canada and AT&T in the US and they were both locked. They were also both the cheapest phones available, so I haven’t bothered unlocking them. The point is, locked phones, even with pre-paid plans, isn’t uncommon.

    Also, I went into a Moblicity store and the cheapest phone they have – a Sony phone for $100 – came unlocked. That’s one reason why I’m thinking of giving them a try – at least if I don’t like it I can take my phone elsewhere.

    With that being said, if anyone has tried Moblicity and has any feedback, please post here! I’m trying very hard to find Moblicity reviews online and they’re very sparse.

  11. By jeff on Oct 25, 2010

    got unlimited talk and data for $35 ,good signal in Toronto and york regino. very happy

  12. By ryan on Nov 8, 2010

    hey all i just got the $35-unlimited all above and am happy
    i am thinking to open a store if any1 wants to join let me know.

  13. By Shane on Nov 12, 2010

    Bought my phone October 28th from the Store at Finch/Birchmount. I bought the HTC snap, it looks ok, but not a whole lot of the features work. I called customer service and tried explaining, I kinda felt rushed like they were more interested in getting to the next customer then dealing with my problem. I told the guy on the phone the problems he said to bring it back into the store and they will give me a new phone (as is there policy), I explained to the guy that the phone fell out of my pocket and had a small scratch at the top. he said it was a defective phone and it didnt matter, just bring it in. When I got to the store they told me that they couldn’t take the phone back because of the scratch, they could send it back to for repair but I would be without a phone for 3 – 4 weeks or rent a phone for $25/week. 4weeks x $25 = what i bought the phone for in the first place, so whats the point? might aswell just buy a new phone.

    The signal is ok where I live (North Scarborough) but starts to suck depending on where you are in the city. Any feature requiring reception will not work properly, or it will have to keep reconnecting constantly.

    So In short, I was given a broken phone, With poor reception, and customer service that will rush you and give you the wrong answer anyways. As sad as it is, I wish I stayed with my old provider.

    I give it a 1/10 because the girl was cute at the store…Thats It!

  14. By Steve on Nov 19, 2010

    What a disappointment they are!

    After signing up for the $35 unlimited and waiting 2+ weeks trying to get my number ported, they finally admitted they can’t port from my previous carrier (vonage) and that I would have to port from vonage to another carrier they have an agreement with, and then port to mobilicity.

    So, step 1 done. Then I go to port from 2nd carrier to mobilicity and they tell me I have to open a new account and that I no longer have the 35 unlimited. I’ll have to pay full price. What the ??!! If they had told me from the beginning, I could have gotten everything done within the time limit. Their incompetence put me in this situation. The supervisors sound like they have gotten the life beaten out of them, and they could care less if you are happy or not. I’m not one of those who screams and shout, but it was a totally frustrating experience and waste of time.

    At this point, I think I’ll shop around.

    After surfing on their network for 2 weeks (I could surf, just not receive or make phone calls), their network is spotty. I would consistently have to reboot my phone in order to reestablish a network connection. Google it. I tried those work arounds for a consistent connection, but none took.

    They just lost a long term customer because of their incompetence.

  15. By David on Nov 22, 2010

    Mobilicity is a scam. I bought blackberry at full price and they said that the blackberry was my property as I was paying the full price. It transpired that despite my paying the full price, it was locked. They are not ready to provide me with the unlock code.

    1. This is fraud – forcing customer to remain with them.

    2. This is out right misrepresentation by their trained sales representatives.

    Just know that what Mobilicity says is not what they do, may it be pricing, plans, coverage or their devices.

  16. By James on Nov 26, 2010

    @ David.

    DEAL WITH IT. It’s really up to them whether they decide to provide unlock codes. Also, if they’re going to offer a price structure such as theirs, and sell the devices full price, then who are you to suggest that it’s fraudulent? So, once again. DEAL WITH IT.

  17. By Nicole on Dec 4, 2010

    All cell phones are usually locked, the only reason why you can usually switch is because if you switch for ex. rogers to fido… its the same company. So you obviously dont need to unlock your phone. Mobilicity is it’s own individual company but you can take their phones to other companys.

  18. By Kelly on Dec 6, 2010

    HEADS UP

    Just signed up based on confirmation of land line porting from shaw number BUT SHAW IS NOT MAKING PORTING OF THEIR NUMBERS AVALIABLE

    Too good a deal to pass up though

  19. By Kris on Dec 8, 2010

    Mobilicity’s Cheap, But You Get What You Pay For

    Honestly, you wouldn’t even believe how insulting the manager at the Mobilicity store on Sheppard is. I tried to retun a phone and he called the cops on me.

    I’m not joking. You can watch the video on Youtube – Customer (dis)Service youtube.com/watch?v=mwJPEGYZOvs

  20. By carlos on Dec 13, 2010

    I was a WIND mobile customer for 5 months, and given their very low density coverage (many spots in GTA without coverage in homes or semi-basements, buildings, etc.) I decided to unlock the phone from WIND (HTC Maple/Snap) and switched to Mobilicity. They have a small coverage area, focusing on GTA and other major cities, but the coverage so far is great – excellent density. Mobilicity also ensures that you know EXACTLY what you are paying, since anything not included in your monthly plan required upfront money in your “mobilicity wallet/account” so no crazy surprises at the end of the month. My wife and I, both self-employed have just signed up to their $65 full unlimited voice, N.American long-distance and data plan, now on SPECIAL at $40 until Dec.24.2010.

  21. By carlos on Dec 13, 2010

    P.S. Just in case it is not clear, if you sign up for the Family & Friends special $40/month plan before Dec.24, 2010, the monthly plan is for life, regularly $65/mth, so it does NOT go up after 6 or 12 months. The F&F plan includes all voice in N.America and data, texting, etc.

  22. By A.D. on Dec 13, 2010

    Yes, I have noticed that $40 plan as well. Simply unbelievable … Regrettably, I am with one of the three big brothers and can’t change until next October.

  23. By Melissa on Dec 19, 2010

    Phone is nice, got the Huawei, plan is the cheapest with the most included. But yes, you get what you pay for. I do not get service anywhere in my entire house, and have to drive up to the gas station to get service. Nor do I get service anywhere in the building where I work. So, doesn’t work at home, doesn’t work at work… looks like I got screwed. I hope they improve their coverage because their prices can not be beat.

  24. By i on Dec 30, 2010

    We purchased Lg Wink from Mobilicy and have a noisy reception. We had phone reset with no improvement. Mobilicity works on AWS network and 1900-2100 frequency. This phone is not set up for it and still been sold by Mobilicity?????? Anybody else found the same results? We will try to exchange the LG wink for another phone that can be handled by the network. It is interesting that management wont help except to go to the dealer to exchange.

  25. By Ray on Jan 3, 2011

    i just got a Motorola Spice from Mobilicity and got the $45 a month plan unlimited everything which is perfect and i love it, i think that some people have to give them a chance because there just starting off and there doing their best and as for people who are having a hard time i dont know about that they treated me good at Keele and Lawrence store so good for them and i hope this company rise above those 3 rip off companys

  26. By Digue on Jan 10, 2011

    I am very happy about Mobilicity.
    — I paied 199 per year, around 17 Dollars for Unlimited calls, caller id, text msg which is all i needed for making the phone calls.
    — I paid another 10 dollars for unlimited data, ( I can stop paying this 10 dollars if any month i do not need data service)
    — so 27 dollars + tax i am paying 30 dollars for unlimited calls and data
    — got a HTC Snap and got all functions working great, google map + gps works great and as i am using unlimited data, google map displays traffic info on the map and same time i get directions
    — installed additional GPS offline map so even i have no data i can still use GPS
    — Installed Skype, MSN and Yahoo and all allowing me to stay in touch with my friends
    — hook up with my company’s outlook web account so i got emails from my company, gmail, and hotmail

    overall, i give it 8 out of 10

  27. By Digue on Jan 10, 2011

    HTC Snap is using windows mobile system, having all the cool features (GPS, office software, outlook, youtube, google map….) which is good for people who likes to play round the system’s features, certain skills and interest to exploration are needed. Some people don’t like it as it is a little teki.

    For people who like easy operation, try Nokia 5230.

    Personally I like HTC Snap, got it for 99 dollars, and if I have to get another phone for my wife I’d choose Nokia 5230.

  28. By lubna on Jan 12, 2011

    @DIGUE,, where did you buy the htc from,,im in toronto and all the stores are out of stock,,,let me know please as i want to buy one?
    my friend bought an htc and her wifi is not working,,,she tried everything and still doesnt connect..

  29. By Digue on Jan 17, 2011

    Lubna,

    Got it from Sheppard /Kennedy Dec 24 2010, my friend got it in Missisauga after being told it’s sold our and switched to another store but finally he got it.

    My wifi and my friend’s phone both work, might be that we are all from IT, WIFI needs to be setup with a little patience when choosing different security options, and not just switch it on and off, and put password, you need to know if your router is using WEP or WPA-PSK, play around it should be ok.

    Try that and if still not working you can ask her to bring the phone to where she bought the phone and let the guys there help.

    pretty sure the phone’s quality is durable.

    hope this can help

  30. By John on Jan 21, 2011

    Dealt with the Dunsmuir location in Vancouver and had nothing but hassles, headaches and frustration with the terrible non English speaking employees who are dishonest, rude and unknowledgeable. The owner lied to me about being able to use my existing phone in order to get me to port my number and cancel my very attractive plan with another cell phone company. the phone worked well for the first couple of months with the temporary roaming service which nobody had made me aware of. When I went back the owner was hiding in the back room and the staff members kept screaming at me to get out of the store because I was asking for a manager and telling them that their customer service is terrible. then a girl wearing a manager tag on her chest! actually called the cops on me simply to get me to quiet down so the other unsuspecting customers do not hear about my frustration. felt insulted and the owner never called me back even tho the police officer actually left my number with the girls to get their owner to call me. Called the 1-800 number several times and was simply told to deal with the franchise responsible. wrote to the head office and have not heard back from them in spite of several attempt to follow-up. JUST AVOID!! THEY ARE UNRELIABLE AND BARBARIC!!!

  31. By James on Jan 31, 2011

    Not hearing many Ottawa reviews, so here’s my take…

    Despite reading many reviews like the latter, I just picked up the HTC Snap Unlimited To Go. Obviously, the price cannot be beat. First “Smartphone” I’ve tried, and I’m still trying to figure it out 3 days later! hahaha.

    Anyway, so far so good. I was worried about the coverage area and roaming, but that has been fine. One good thing is that you aren’t able to make a call while roaming if you have no money in My Wallet. Otherwise, it might have been shady. Most of the time I have between 1 and 3 bars, and I have had one dropped call (mind you, I was on the line with Koodo trying to cancel that plan, so who knows). Either way, I am not expecting from Mobilicilty the performance of an established corporation considering they just started and are competing with the nastiest oligarchy on the international cellphone market, Bell-Rogers-Telus. I think one needs to be screwed by all 3 (hopefully not at the same time!) in order to really appreciate any newbies on the market. Remember, too, that those three went through all the same growing pains in their time, yet they are still full of $#*!.

    The bottom line is that ALL cellphone companies will screw you in their own way. That is, until there is enough competition that “telling the truth” becomes important. More than anything, I choose to support the Newbies because they’re the one’s who will bring down the Big Guys’ prices. And I’m willing to bet that in another two years, their coverage will double, and they’ll be able to start firing the idiots others have mentioned.

    Note also that people are far more likely to write a review if they’re pissed off than if they’re satisfied. For example, I’m only writing this review because of how pissed off I am at the BRT Empire.

    Good Luck.

  32. By mark on Mar 5, 2011

    To some extent with mobilicty you do get what you pay for. But if your main usage area is Toronto and you are willing to go outside if necessary to get service in rare cases. Then the service is well worth it because it’s by far the cheapest. I have the motorola spice, I live in Toronto and so far I’m quite happy with it. Sometimes I do have to go to other areas of the buildings or outside but so far so good. Go Mobilicity we need more companies like you to break the big three monopoly!

  33. By azizam on Apr 8, 2011

    Overall, it is way better to be with mobilicity than any of the old companies. Why? Because if you don’t like it, you can always leave. You won’t be tricked into anything. Their long distance connection is a bit weird sometimes, but it is cheaper or as cheap as skype. Unlike Wind if you don’t have money in the “wallet” (extra money put for roaming, long distance and etc, pay as you go strategy) you won’t roam, they won’t charge you. Wind would charge you when you roam, and then send you the bill. Connection is not so good in some places, but for the price it is worth it. I have a Christmas special, 44.80 with taxes for unlimited North America calling, inter. text messaging, unlimited data.

    Phones though. I got nexus one with them and it broke a few months later. I could not send it back to HTC or Google because I was told (by them) that my warranty has expired. Mobilicty phone service was not helpful at all. When I went to the store, I was told that they buy phones and accumulate them before they put them out on sale. Once they purchase, its warranty gets activated, I got my phone a year after it was released therefore no warranty on mine anymore. They have their own company that fixes it under “their warranty”, so they had to send my phone to them. I waited for 3 weeks only to see my phone still broken, in other way. I strongly recommend buying phones from the manufacture itself, it will be the same price, and you will deal with them directly. Mobilicity needs to give their sales people more power to do things, and that what will make them different from other companies. Once my phone will get fixed, I will be happy with them. Now, not so much

  34. By Daniel Go on Apr 19, 2011

    “Overall, it is way better to be with mobilicity than any of the old companies. Why? Because if you don’t like it, you can always leave.”

    @azizam: thanks for this comment. this seems to be a customer-oriented company. and that’s what i’m looking for these days, rather than luring you with all its “pseudo-benefits”. thanks!

    regards,
    Daniel
    Shisha guy
    website: Hookahset.com

  35. By azizam on May 2, 2011

    Well on a not so bright side, my nexus one is still in the fix and this is over 2 months now.

  36. By RT on May 13, 2011

    Moblicity might be cheap but there is no way that their service can compete with the “real” phone companies. I have been with rogers for approximately 4 years and switched to moblicity in December last year. The phones have very bad reception ( I will be in my room and my phone says “CDN Roaming”). I have had to go to their corporate location; which they have like only one in each major city; at least 10 times since I bought the phone and the level of service I have gotten from their customer service representatives cannot even be called service. I sent my phone in for repair last month and was told that it would take maximum 10 days for my phone to be repaired and returned back to me. At this moment moblicity has no idea where my phone is or when I will get it back. I will be switching to another phone company as soon as I get my phone back; if I get it back…MOBLICITY SUCKS!!

  37. By Calvin Tse on May 14, 2011

    well i had the $25 plan for about a week now with a refurbished $25 phone with it. Although i dont get connection in certain locations in the center of toronto, examples in certain stores in malls etc. Also I’ve now upgraded it with unlimited data, and a much better phone, the Motorola Spice, but there are still at times loses connection. Also i asked them about getting phones unlocked costs $40 or so for mobilicity to unlock for you.

    The problem with using other company phone plans (Telus, Rogers ETC.)is that these given phones can only use 2G networking.

    Soo if you are planning to unlock and change phone companies, you mind as well get a brand new phone.

  38. By Chi on May 17, 2011

    Hello. I have 3 months left until I am finally free from fido’s 3 year agreement. I have 50$ fido dollars to spend and am planning to get the cheap $50 phone with it because my current phone just broke. Could I use that phone for mobilicity?? If I have to unlock it where would I do that?
    Thanks

  39. By John on Jun 1, 2011

    I switched my Rogers phones three weeks ago. 3 hours later I noticed that I did not receive a signal in my house. I returned to the rogers store at Hazeldean Mall Kanata where I had to re-purchase two sim cards at Rogers in order to be reactivated. I then went to Mobilicity (in the same mall). Mobilicity refunded my money for the two phones and could not return my $90 for the first month service on both phones. The manager said I would get a check sent in the mail in 3-5 days. I returned to the store several times during the week to see if they would reimburse me for the $22 I spent on replacing the sim cards. The manager stated ” I am waiting for my boss to get back to me on that”. The 5th day after I returned the phones I returned to get an answer as to why I did not receive my $90 and also the $22 for the sim cards. The manager stated ” sorry, we are not giving you the $22 because your not a customer of ours, and your check is in the mail. I then said that I will inform all customers that your service is poor and product is awful. I stood outside the store and waited. The manager called security and they in turn security called police. Oh, I live across the street where I bought this product with no signal. and wasted 4 hours of my time fooling around with there poor quality product.

  40. By Unimpressed on Jun 3, 2011

    Just purchased Moto Spice +#35 plan in Richmond (suburb of Vancouver. Am extremely unimpressed with spotty coverage. Have on many occasions had no coverage in areas where there is supposed to be unlimited coverage. In a mall or other buildings where my Rogers phone had no issues, my Mobilicity phone receives no signal. They need to add more towers, but I don’t see that happening unless they can sell more packages. It’s a viscious circle as people wjo read the bad reviews will not switch to Mobilicity, and Mobilicity will not be able to afford to install new towers. I don’t see Mobilicity being around for more than a few years unless they find a way to improve reception issues quickly.

  41. By unimpressed2 on Jun 21, 2011

    I’m not impressed with Mobilicity. It may be ok if you do not care about local coverage. Lots of area unserviced. Lots of calls dropped for no reason. Voicemail is a nightmare. I do not recommend. Better of with Virgin or Fido.

  42. By Z on Jun 26, 2011

    LONG LIVE WIND MOBILE!!!!!!!!!!!

  43. By so far so good on Jul 5, 2011

    About 3 weeks ago I bought the Unlimited to Go, Nokia 5230 package for $149, w $20 rebate at the retail store I went to (not a Mobilicity store), so about $146 total including taxes. That’s for the phone, 3 months of the $35 unlimited talk and text, plus because I ported my number from those T*&%^&%@# at Telus, I’m getting $25 per month for 4 months put into my ‘wallet/account’… and I confirmed that I can use funds from my ‘wallet’ to pay the bill… so basically I’ve got 6 months of unlimited talk and text for under $150.

    I’m on the east side of Vancouver, and reception at my house is better than what I had with Telus, but my Telus phone was pretty old. I’ve had to manually tell the phone to pick the correct network a couple of times, usually when in Richmond. Porting the number took a couple of hours, so not bad.

    About a week after it was activated, I logged in and discovered that my ‘wallet’ was at $0. I called customer service to ask them to clarify. I don’t have data in my package and I had NOT been surfing. They said my phone had been checking for updates twice per day. I asked them to walk me through disabling internet access, which they did, and she volunteered that she would reset my ‘wallet’ to $25 b/c the internet surfing/updating had been accidental.

    So, maybe I’m lucky b/c coverage where I live is great, but I’m thinking about getting the unlimited datastick for my laptop, and cancelling Shaw too. Unlimited internet is 1/2 price because I have an unlimited phone plan, so that’s $20 per month plus the $80 to buy the stick. For Shaw home phone/internet ($75) and Telus cell ($45). A little concerned about the datastick stability, so maybe I’ll keep my Shaw for a month to be on the safe side.

  44. By so far so good on Jul 5, 2011

    Oh! Also, when I first got the phone, I could reply to texts but couldn’t initiate texts, and they couldn’t figure out why at first. Their tech guy called me the next day, and we had to change a couple of settings. I presume that if I’d bought the package in a Mobilicity store they would have done this for me… it was a pain in the butt for a couple of days, but it’s been fine since.

  45. By so far so good - update on Jul 5, 2011

    Went to get the datastick today… the guy at the mobilicity store didn’t understand their plans, tried to activate, called their customer service: turns out you get 1/2 price for data ONLY if you are paying full price for the cell plan. So, b/c I bought the 3-month unlimited to go, that means the datastick will be $40 per month… I’m holding off for now.

  46. By mahi on Jul 31, 2011

    My relative bought sony xperia x10,but battery is not fully charging?it stops at 89%.So think twice when buying xperia x10.

  47. By SY on Aug 12, 2011

    Great article!!! Thank you for taking the time to provide this info, still trying to decide if I should switch to Mobilicity from Rogers. Would need a new smartphone that works on Mobilicity.

  48. By Lulu on Aug 27, 2011

    Don’t buy there data stick. It is a garbage.
    Most of the time the download speed is few hundred kbps.

  49. By chipoftheblock on Sep 19, 2011

    I just got $25.00 plan with unlimited date for my LG G2x unlocked, works great no problem so far. It is showing 4G and fast.
    Tethering is allowed, no freezing no drops of calls.

  50. By sanggnas on Oct 10, 2011

    Every cell phone companies will screw their customers one way or another but right now I am happy with Mobilicity until I find out they start to screw me like the big3 I certain will leave because there is no contract between.
    Right now I am with 40 buck plan, I can tethering HTC snap to my laptop any where I go in covered areas, I can set special sound for emails from pop3, gmail, etc, when I am free I can read news on internet, when bored I can listen to mp3 either through built in speaker or head set, and the Snap really has a beautiful sound.
    I also talked to my family members in Los Angles and Jacksonville, FL for hours almost twice a week.
    All will cost me $45.20 every month (tax incl).
    I know I should not complain as I did with TELIEs before.

    By the way, if you intend to move over, just tell them move your number as well, if they can’t then forget it, they certainly will do it in no time.
    As for locked phone, ask to yourself how many old phones you have in the closet?

  51. By jiri on Dec 13, 2011

    Mobilicity sucks big time in Vancouver area. Absolutely no coverage inside of buildings (even in the heart of downtown), signal fades, calls drop and call centre must be somewhere far, far away since the operators can barely speak English. I was really mad at Bell and jumped the gun a bit…

Post a Comment

Copyright © 2011 [A Dawn Dot Net Corp.] All rights reserved   |   Privacy & Cookies